State of Wisconsin
Department of Administration
Division of Gaming
Office of Charitable Gaming
Charitable Bingo Section
<a href="https://doa.wi.gov/Pages/AboutDOA/Gaming.aspx">https://doa.wi.gov/Pages/AboutDOA/Gaming.aspx</a>



3319 W. Beltline Hwy., 1<sup>st</sup> FI P.O. Box 8979 Madison, WI 53708-8979 (608) 270-2530 (800) 791-6970 FAX (608) 270-2564

### **BINGO LICENSE APPLICATION INFORMATION**

### **ENCLOSURES**

- I. Instructions for Completing the Bingo License Application
- II. Bingo License Application
- III. List of Licensed Bingo Suppliers
- IV. Wisconsin Statutes and Administrative Code
- V. Wisconsin Bingo Law Requirements

### 1. STATUTORY REQUIREMENTS

The enclosed "Wisconsin Bingo Law Requirements" explains the requirements of Chapter 563, Wis. Stats. Further information and report forms are sent with the approved bingo license.

## 2. TYPES OF BINGO OCCASIONS

There are two types of bingo occasions which you can hold under a bingo license:

#### A. "Unlimited" Bingo Occasions

This type of licensing allows an organization to hold an unlimited number of bingo occasions during its licensing year. Games may be played on hard cards (Regular bingo) or disposable paper sheets (Special bingo). If Regular bingo is played, an admission card must be sold for not more than \$1.00, which can be used for all regular games. Extra hard cards of a different color may be sold for up to \$1.00 each and used in all Regular games. You may play some games on paper sheets, charging up to \$1.00 per face. If **only** Special bingo is played, paper sheets must be available on a game-by-game basis for not more than \$1.00 per face and no admission fee may be charged.

# B. Limited Period Bingo Occasions

This type of licensing allows an organization to hold bingo occasions once a year for not more than 4 of 5 consecutive days, using hard cards or paper sheets. No admission fee may be charged. Cards are sold on a game-by-game basis for not more than \$1.00 per face per game. This type of license is for festivals, fairs, and other once-a-year events.

You may hold both types of occasions under the same license.

### 3. LICENSE DURATION

All bingo occasions listed on the license application must fall within a period of 12 months. Your license period will begin on the first day of the month containing your first scheduled occasion. For instance, if the first occasion listed on your license application is February 16, the license period will begin February 1 and expire on January 31 of the following year.

When applying for a license, do not schedule any occasions on the application which occur beyond the twelve-month period.

# 4. BINGO SUPPLIES AND EQUIPMENT

All bingo supplies and equipment must be purchased from a licensed bingo supplier or purchased or borrowed from another organization licensed to conduct bingo. A list of licensed suppliers is enclosed.

#### 5. ELIGIBILITY DOCUMENTATION FOR ORIGINAL LICENSURE

Eligibility for a bingo license is explained in the "Wisconsin Statutes and Administrative Code." If your organization has not been issued a license within the last four years, submit a copy of its articles of incorporation, bylaws, constitution, or charter. In addition, if "Other organization to which contributions are tax deductible" is checked in #2 of the "Bingo License Application," submit a copy of the organization's Letter of Determination from the Internal Revenue Service.

This office may request additional information from your organization to determine eligibility.

#### 6. <u>LICENSE FEES</u>

The bingo license fees are:

- A. Each bingo occasion \$10.00
- B. One member designated responsible for the proper utilization of gross receipts \$5.00

The \$3.00 amendment fee listed on the application is not paid for an original license or renewal license application. The \$3.00 fee is only required if you amend an existing license.

### 7. APPLICATION FILING

Please complete the application form in its entirety and submit it with the required fees and eligibility documentation. Submit your application to reach this office at least 45 days in advance of the first date you plan on conducting bingo. If your application is incomplete, it will be returned to you for correction. This will delay the processing of your application. You may not conduct bingo until you have received the bingo license.

#### 8. AMENDMENTS TO YOUR BINGO LICENSE

An organization may amend an approved license during its license period. You will receive more information regarding amendments with your approved bingo license.

We are here to help. Please contact the Office of Charitable Gaming at (608) 270-2530 if you have any questions regarding bingo licensure.